a mish-mash (and potatoes)

Yesterday was kind of a weird day, eating-wise. Basically nothing went to plan. I tried my best, though, and I don’t think I came out too poorly.

So, I don’t know if any of you are on Tumblr, but I follow several fitness/health Tumblrs there and fairly frequently a picture of a halved avocado with an egg baked into the pit’s leftover hole runs across my dash. It seems like it would be easy, right? Just plop an egg in there and call it a day! I didn’t bother reading any sort of directions on actually making that, and had two leftover avocados I need to use up before they turn. I ended up with this:

These damn things took forever. First of all, despite me making some extra space, obviously the whole white didn’t fit in, and even the small part of the white that I did think could reasonably fit … spilled. And what was left afterwards took forever to cook, so my yolk cooked through, so instead of my dreams of warm melty avocado and warm melty runny egg yolk, I got … warm, slightly dried on top, avocado and crumbly firm egg. Blech. Also, though I added salt, it needed more. Fail.

Again I got busy and distracted and forgot about lunch. I ended up eating what small serving of chicken pho was left, and the tiny bit of our household Panda Express from the day before.

It was definitely grocery-shopping day, but R wanted to go to IKEA to look for a desk. We failed in that regard, but my lunch was so light that I ended up suggesting dinner there. I got their $2 special because I’m cheap as hell. 😛 I ate half the potatoes, and about 3/4 of the chicken – donating the rest of the chicken to R’s cause.

What is not picture is the half a pound of guacamole I got from Mi Pueblo. R and I dug into it last night and while I certainly had a serving of it, I’m proud that both of us were able to restrain ourselves and not overeat just because it was amazingly delicious. 😀

Leave a Reply

