hi everyone!

I took about three weeks off of dieting/exercising and just basically let myself go. The rationale behind this was pretty poor – I had a trip coming up, wherein I didn’t plan on dieting, and so why bother for the three weeks prior? I didn’t gain any weight during the three weeks but I did gain 3 pounds on the trip, which was enough to jump start me back on track again. (can you say, yo yo dieter? yeesh) I was 149.8 this morning. šŸ˜¦

In any case, I got it in my head to try the keto diet I’d read so much about on Reddit. I tried day 1 yesterday and let me tell you… they aren’t kidding about the “keto flu.” I felt miserable by the end of the day and ended up drinking a beer at 10 p.m. just so I could go to sleep feeling halfway decent. I’m trying again today, though, and hope that maybe easing into it a day at a time will be helpful.

I’m on my lunch but here’s a brief synopsis of yesterday’s food –

Two eggs and a “Quick n Eat” sausage patty. 340 calories.

A leg, a thigh, and about a cup and a half of broccoli steamed in vegetable broth with minced garlic and a splash of coconut aminos soy sauce replacement.

I couldn’t finish this. Steak, onion, zucchini, sharp cheddar, olive oil, garlic. By this point in the day, I was nauseous and had a headache. Plus, the cut of steak (it was pre-chopped – my first mistake) had a TON of gristle and even some bone! 1/10, would not buy again.

I nibbled on some soy-free beef jerky before bed but a 24 ounce Red Hook Long Hammer IPA was my huge failing of the day. I plan on scaling down to a Coors Light tonight, which I know is not at all within keto, but if I feel anywhere close to how I felt yesterday, it will be necessary. Until next time!

Leave a Reply

