10 pounds by Christmas

I’ve been on and off the wagon lately … I find myself taking pictures of my food, then running out of time to even upload them, much less organize them into a blog post. On the positive side, much of why I run out of time each evening is the fact that I’ve been trying to get in daily exercise. (we won’t talk about the much-needed cleaning that also takes up a bulk of my evenings)

I do find that I make better choices and have better results when I’m taking pictures and writing blog posts – so I will try to find a balance in my life that allows for it!

That being said, I was disappointed when I didn’t meet my goal of losing 5 pounds in the months of September and October. I need to have a sitdown with myself and rethink the use of, “Today is a new day,” to motivate myself to keep going – having that “reset” each day isn’t doing a lot for me, and although it may not have been mentally healthier to beat myself up over having a bad day, I’m starting to think that it might be more effective to hold myself more accountable and less “it’s okay to make mistakes.”

So my new goal is to lose 10 pounds by Christmas. I reset my goals in MFP to losing 1 pound a week, and was allotted 1270 calories per day because of that. Obviously, Christmas is a little less than 10 weeks away, but I feel like really pushing myself to get in exercise while eating more wholesomely and healthier can get me to 10 pounds in slightly fewer weeks than that.

One thing I’ve also been struggling with has been the type of exercise I do. I feel great when I do Turbo Jam (fat blaster and the 3T exercises make a great pair) but when I do elliptical, I get to watch Supernatural! It’s a hard choice – choosing the exercise that objectively feels like I’ve worked myself out harder, or staying on the elliptical for 80 minutes while I watch a couple of episodes. I’ve been leaning towards to elliptical as I work my way through season 3 of Supernatural on Netflix, but I am going to make more of an effort to get in Turbo Jam on the days when R doesn’t want to watch Supernatural with me. 😉

For the record, I weighed in at 148.6 this morning …. getting down to 138.6 would be amazing.

So that’s that!

Leave a Reply

