adventures in running

I decided to switch it up a bit when it comes to my running routine. Couch to 5K was awesome for getting me up and out and running. But after running for 11 minutes straight with no problem, I thought – why not just run? Why bother with the back and forth, starting and stopping, tracking the time (even just in my head, since I have a pretty good idea of how long each song I’m listening to is) and so on? I figured that, given that I could easily run 1.2 miles without stopping, setting my goal to 2 miles even would be a good first step to Operation: Just Run. I mapped out a route in my head, estimating it to be about two miles, and off I went. It was a little harder than the 1.2 mile run (more hills!) and my pace was a bit slower, but I finished 1.8 miles in 17 minutes of nonstop jogging. 17 minutes! And here I was, intimidated by the idea of running for 5 minutes at a time. I figure that I’ll stick with that route for a while, then gradually extend my distance as I feel less challenged.

I’ve also decided to pick back up with … I don’t even know what to call it. It’s like a Gazelle glider thing, except it’s not a Gazelle, it’s a Health Walker. Mostly I use it to build upper body strength, locking my legs, leaning forward, and then essentially doing assisted push ups. I have no clue how to log the activity on CalorieCount or if it’s even burning any significant calories, but I figure I’ll do it 30 or 45 minutes a day for kicks.

Leave a Reply

